top of page
Search

The FOLD

The first week of May I was thrilled to tune in to the FOLD (Festival of Literary Diversity) for the first time. The FOLD has been around for about 7 years and before the pandemic happened in Brampton Ontario each year, like many other things they moved virtually when they could no longer meet in person. As someone who is not local to Brampton, I have to say that I loved being able to enjoy this week long festival virtually!


The FOLD featured a wide variety of panels on zoom plus a few in person events this year that they streamed so virtual attendees could view them as well. I enjoyed all of the events AND the exhibit hall, which had a lot of booths to look at with tons of information. Not only was the event affordable, making it accessible, but it also had a lot of other accessibility features as well like close captioning (just as one example).


My favourite session was the Literary Cabaret, which was an in person event streamed virtually where six authors did readings from their works with a live Jazz band behind accompanying them. The books read aloud were of varying genres and I have since gotten my hands on more than one and am excited to read them. Other sessions I enjoyed were the panels on Indigenous Voices and Parenting on the Page (though truthfully, I enjoyed them all!).


The exhibit hall was so well set up, the booths from different publishers, book stores, writing programs, and more were full of info, book lists, videos, and giveaways. I was lucky enough to win a five book collection from Simon and Schuster, which is pictured below.


You could also earn points for doing different actions throughout the week, from which I also won a multi-book collection, which is on its way, I'll share it on instagram when it arrives!


I really enjoyed the time I put in to viewing the sessions, participating in chats, and connecting with other readers during the FOLD week. Surrounding myself with so many writers and readers, even virtually, ended up being really inspiring and lead to me doing a lot of my own writing within the month of May, which I know will continue. When I paid the admission I had no idea the FOLD would be a catalyst for some of my own growth as a writer, reader, and give me more connections, motivation, and inspiration.


It's sold me on continuing to participate every year, and I hope you'll consider viewing it with me next year too! Follow them right here: FOLD on instagram so you'll know when to register, the FOLD kids festival will be this fall, the next FOLD festival will be next spring.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Daughters of the Deer review

Yesterday was Red Dress Day or the National Day for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Woman and Girls (and 2s+). Yesterday was also the day I finished reading Daughters of the Deer, which is an incredib

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page